14 July 2017

2017 N. Stewart McIntyre Award Winner Matthew Turnbull

Congratulations to Mr. Mathew Turnbull, PhD candidate from the Department of Chemistry at Western University, winner of the 2017 Dr. N. Stewart McIntyre Award in Surface Science.

Matthew’s research abstract was entitled “Layer-by-Layer Optimization of Cu2ZnSnS4 (CZTS) Nanocrystals for use in Solar Cell Devices”. Matthew, a member of Prof. Zhifeng Ding’s group, has used a variety of surface analysis techniques during his studies, including scanning electron microscopy coupled with energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopy (SEM/EDX), photoelectrochemical measurements (PECM) and synchrotron-based extended X-ray absorption fine structure (EXAFS) analysis. Matthew intends to employ synchrotron-based X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy to future studies in this area.

Congratulations Matthew from everyone at Surface Science Western!

2017 N. Stewart McIntyre Award winner Matthew Turnbull (center) with SSW’s Mark Biesinger (left) and David Shoesmith (right).

Leave a Reply