24 July 2013

Dr. N. Stewart McIntyre Award in Surface Science 2013 Winner Pierangelo Gobbo

2013 Dr. N. Stewart McIntyre Award Winner

Dr. N. Stewart McIntyre Award Winner for 2013, Mr. Pierangelo Gobbo (center) with Prof. Emeritus Stewart McIntyre (right) and Dr. Mark Biesinger from Surface Science Western (left).

Congratulations to Mr. Pierangelo Gobbo, Ph.D. Candidate – Department of Chemistry at Western University, winner of the 2013 Dr. N. Stewart McIntyre Award in Surface Science.

Pierangelo’s abstract entitled “Characterization of New Nanomaterials for Sensing and Nanomedicine” highlighted his work on the design, synthesis and reactivity of new “clickable” carbon nanotubes and gold nanoparticles. “Click reactions” allow for these materials to be functionalized quickly, efficiently and without forming by-products. Pierangelo used a variety of surface analysis techniques during his studies including X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS), atomic force microscopy (AFM), transmission electron microscopy (TEM) and energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopy (EDX). Of particular interest was the use of XPS to provide proof of chemical covalent bonds after the click reactions had taken place.

Dr. N. Stewart McIntyre Award in Surface Science
Awarded annually to a full-time undergraduate or graduate student for their excellence in research involving surface analysis and/or surface science as part of their undergraduate or graduate thesis studies.

Dr. N. Stewart McIntyre was director of SSW from 1981 to 2005. He has published over 200 publications in the field of surface science and related subjects and is currently a Professor Emeritus in the Department of Chemistry at Western. He remains active in materials research, XRF and XRD applications, and in facilitating such work using HP computations.